Balmoral Classic

Balmoral Classic 2017 Winners!

Winners of the 2017 Balmoral Classic
Winners of the 2017 Balmoral Classic U.S. Junior Bagpiping & Drumming Championships

The 11th Annual Balmoral Classic US Junior Solo Junior Bagpiping and Solo Snare Drumming Championships were won by piper Joseph Horwath of Saginaw, Michigan, and drummer Matthew Darmadi of Houston, Texas. Fifteen pipers from six states plus Ontario and Scotland, and three drummers from Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas competed in the double event contest. Arthur McAra was the emcee. Piping judges were Jack Taylor (Scotland), Amy Garson (Canada), John Bottomley (USA). Drumming judges were Gordon Bell and Jon Quigg of the USA. 

Liam Macdonald of Wellesley, Ontario won the Piobaireachd contest and a set of DN2E bagpipes donated by David Naill bagpipes.  Callum Younger of Latham, New York won the MSR contest and a set of Duncan MacRae bagpipes donated by McCallum Bagpipes. The Overall winner Joseph Horwath placed second in the Piobaireachd contest, and fourth in the MSR, was the sole piper to place in both contests, and had the highest overall points to win the Overall Winner Trophy.

Joseph Horwath won the Ralph and Patricia Murray Memorial Trophy for the Overall Winner. Liam Macdonald captured the Balmoral Trophy for his Piobaireachd first. Callum Younger took home the E.W. Littlefield Jr trophy for his MSR win.

PIPING RESULTS: Piobaireachd 

  1. Liam Macdonald Hector MacLean’s Warning
  2. Joseph Horwath Corrienessan’s Salute
  3. Colin Johnstone MacFarlanes Gathering
  4. Tyler Destremps Melbanks Salute
  5. Colin Tait Hiharin Dro O Dro

PIPING RESULTS: March, Strathspey, Reel 

  1. Callum Younger David Ross of  Rosehall, The Caledonian Society of London, Willie Murray’s Reel
  2. Drew Mackay Donald MacLellan of Rothesay, Mrs. Donald Macpherson, John MacInnes
  3. Robert Dunn Parker’s Welcome to Perthshire, Stac Polly, Captain Lachlan Macphaill of Tiree
  4. Joseph Horwath Leaving Lunga, Cabar Feidh, Tom Kettles
  5. Gemma Briggs Alan Dodd’s Fareweill to Scotland, The Doune of Invernochty, The Blackberry Bush


  1. Joseph Horwath
  2. Liam Macdonald
  3. Callum Younger
  4. Drew Mackay
  5. Colin Johnstone

Prizes for 2nd to 5th place pipers included a blackwood chanter donated by MacLellan Bagpipes, a set of kitchen pipes donated by Scotts Highland Services, a Fox Fur Sporran donated by Celtic Croft, and additional prizes donated by Duncan’s Highland Supply, Jim McGillivray, St. Kilda USA, and the Balmoral School. 

Matthew Darmadi of Houston, Texas, was the Overall Winner in the Drumming contest, scoring first in the MSR, and second in the Hornpipe/Jig contests. He took home a Premier HTS800 Premier Snare Drum donated by Henderson Imports of Traverse City, Michigan, as well as the David Peet Memorial Trophy, and the St. Andrews Society of Pittsburgh Trophy.  Isabella Jackson of Parma, Ohio, won the Hornpipe/Jig contest and the Pittsburgh Firefighters Memorial Trophy, and a fox fur sporran donated by The Celtic Croft.

DRUMMING RESULTS: March, Strathspey, and Reel 

  1. Matthew Darmadi Duncan MacInnes, Maggie Cameron, Lt. Col. D.J.S. Murray
  2. Ian Bielski PM Thomas McAllister, Maggie Cameron, Loch Carron
  3. Isabella Jackson Donald Cameron, Bogan Lochan, Pretty Marion

DRUMMING RESULTS: Hornpipe and Jig 

  1. Isabella Jackson Uphold the RightThe Curlew
  2. Matthew Darmadi Salute to the MacLawsontyres, Bronni’s Blue Brozzi
  3. Ian Bielski Crossing the Minch, Alan MacPherson of Mosspak


  1. Matthew Darmadi
  2. Isabella Jackson
  3. Ian Bielski

Additionally, Henderson donated a pair of Andante snare drum sticks to each drumming competitor


  • Meaghan Bielski for Ian Bielski
  • Michael Crawley for Isabella Jackson 
  • Kevin Darmadi for Matthew Darmadi

Steven MacDonald was the winner of the Balmoral Classic Inaugural Novice Snare Drum Contest, from a field of seven drummers. The top four contestants received medals.   Henderson Imports of Traverse City, Michigan donated an Innovative Red Gum Rubber Practice pad with Black Rim and a pair of Andante snare drum sticks for the winner of the Novice Snare Drum Contest.


  1. Steven MacDonald
  2. Matthew Fuhrman
  3. Coby Rangel
  4. Becky Jesurum
  5. Liam Conway
  6. Jett Vaultz
  7. Elyce Milligan